Concealed Carry Firearms Permit Training Wisconsin, Florida, and Utah
frequently asked questions
Q. Will your course meet the training requirements for the Wisconsin permit?
A. Yes, the law states that if you take a course offered by a national organization that trains instructors (NRA), or a state organization that trains instructors, this will meet the training requirements set forth by Wisconsin Act 35. We offer the Utah course as we are instructors that have been trained and certified by the State of Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification to offer this course in Wisconsin. If you don't instruct for the NRA or a State organization the WI DOJ will certify you to instruct. This is where the confusion comes in. The DOJ has not established their list of instructors or the requirements for their course. The DOJ requirements don't apply to us as we are certified by a state organization (the State of Utah)
Q. What is the difference between "use of force" and "use of deadly force"?
A. This is a very important question and is the sole reason why you need to take this course.
Q. Why should I take this course since I already have a Hunter's Safety Certificate?
A. Since most of us took a Hunter's Safety Course (HSC)when we were real young we all could use a refresher. HSC did not teach you when you can and can't use deadly force. HSC did not teach you the problems associated with carrying concealed. HSC did not teach you where you can and where you cannot go armed. HSC did not teach you about reciprocity and recognition. Unless you are a police officer you should really take this course. HSC will not allow you to carry concealed in the 30+ states that the Utah permit offers.
Q. When will Wisconsin actually start issuing permits?
A. I would guess that November 1, 2011 would be a safe bet. You can be trained anytime.
Q. What are the costs of the actual permits and is that included in the cost of this course?
A. The Wisconsin permit will cost $50 for a 5 year permit and that fee is not included in the cost of our course. The cost of the Utah permit is $51 for a 5 year permit and that is not included in the cost of our course. The background checks are included in what each state charges you for a permit.
Q. What does Reciprocity and Recognition mean?
A. Reciprocity is when one state has a written agreement with another state to honor each other's Concealed Carry permits. Recognition is the same type of agreement but not written.
Q. If I am a Wisconsin resident and I have a Florida, Utah or any other permit Wisconsin might honor, do I need to get a Wisconsin permit?
A. All Wisconsin residents MUST have a Wisconsin Concealed Carry Permit to carry concealed in Wisconsin.
Q. Why would I want to get a Florida permit too?
A. Your Wisconsin permit (as of right now)will not allow you to carry concealed in Florida. There are other states that the Florida permit covers (Kansas and New Mexico). So, if you want to carry in those three states you should get a Florida permit. Wait and see who recognizes the Wisconsin permit.
Q. What is your refund policy?
A. We will give you a full refund if you cancel at least 3 weeks in advance of your original class date. If not, you can transfer your payment to any class we have scheduled.
Q. Why do some companies, that do firearms training, say you have to shoot to get a permit?
A. I don't know why because to get your Wisconsin and Utah permit you do not have to qualify or shoot a firearm. To get your Florida permit you have to show proof of firing a firearm. This can be shown with a Hunter's Safety course certificate, a DD214, competitive shooting, prior Law Enforcement, etc. If you want a Florida permit and need to shoot, this can be arranged for an additional charge.